The Influential Alliance of AWLFI in the 17th Congress

The dynamism of women legislators captured during the election of officers for the Association of Women Legislators Foundation, Inc. (AWLF) on 09 August 2016. They were sworn into office by the House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez on 25 August 2016, the same day its President for the 17th Congress, Rep. Linabelle Ruth R. Villarica, made a manifestation on the floor regarding her election to the AWLFI. Registered with the SEC as a foundation on August 26, 2011, the association was first organized five Congresses ago by then Representative and now Senator Cynthia Villar. Called then the Association of Lady Legislators, it rose to become a permanent political bloc in the House of Representatives under the leadership of Rep. Gina De Venecia of the 4th District of Pangasinan in the 15th and 16th Congress. Since then, Room 219 of the South Wing has been assigned  for the organizaton’s use. The association today is composed of the eighty-seven (87) women solons of the House of Representatives. During its First General Assembly, thirty-one (31) of its members were elected to various positions. The body also unanimously conferred the honorary title of Chairman Emeritus to  the  Hon. Gina de Venecia. Rep. Villarica gathered members of the AWLFI for their first informal get-together on 30 August 2016 at EDSA Shangri-la. Since then, among their activities include organizing the Forum, "Federalism: What’s In It For Us, Women?” in cooperation with the House Committee on Women and Gender Equality, where UP Political Science Department's Ms. Socorro Reyes, Ph.D. and Maria Ela Atienza, Ph.D.  were resource speakers and Ms. Jean Encinas Franco, Ph.D. was moderator.